Defining Events

In my last post I talked about defining moments and events in life.  All of us have had many.

First kiss, first love, graduation, the day I met my true love, the proposal, our wedding day and November 15, 2011.  The day I got the BFP!  Each of these events and many many more have shaped and changed my life in many ways.

In my very humble opinion the most defining moment of my life was becoming a mother.  Hearing his heartbeat for the first time.  First ultrasound.  Hearing his most beautiful cry at 12:03 pm on April 27, 2012.  He was here!  12 weeks early.  Delivered by emergency C-section as he was breech.  Feisty and weighing in at 1442 grams. 39 cms long.  The most beautiful baby every born.  (I know this as I am his mother.) Hahaha…

We settled in for a stay in the NICU.  Most likely 8-12 weeks.  He was doing well. I was pumping milk, he was active, eating well, thriving and gaining weight.  My husband was living at the hospital with us.  Our family of 3 was together and doing what we could.  Breakfast in the morning, spending the day by his bedside, baths, feedings, diaper changes, and bedtime stories.

Nine days later something was wrong.  Bloodwork was done, meds were started, shaved his hair for IV’s.  He was sick.  One of the scariest things any parent can hear.

Sending out good thoughts for the weekend!

One response

  1. Pingback: Tuesday | Life, Love and my version of motherhood

Leave a Reply

