Meeting my Mr. and the picture of our life

I know in life we are told to count our blessings. Be grateful for what you have.

Is it terrible to want more? Is it selfish to feel you deserve that one thing that will change the picture of life for you?

Each day I get up and do my very best at my jobs. I have full-time employment. I am also a wife. I am a mother. Each of those things requires me to be different things for different people. I know that as life progresses and we reach different milestones in our life our picture changes.

At 17 and a recent graduate of high school I saw my future laid out for me. I was dating my high school sweetheart and truly thought that we would eventually marry and have a family. Two years later and in college I was recently single and my picture changed. I saw college graduation and looking for a job. I was enjoying time with my friends. My picture changed drastically several times in my twenties. I worked hard, most of the time I maintained two jobs, a full-time and a part-time. I had my own home. I have very close girlfriends and we had adventures and enjoyed all that life could offer us on our budget. Hahaha. Road trips planned on the spur of the moment, that new red hair dye, first tattoos and lazy weekends spent at university with my girlfriends.

Girls night out. At 26, deciding to forget trying to meet a man, embrace our singleness. Bahahaa.. I giggle. That very same night, November 24, 2001, I met my husband. He was shy…………..Ok he was very shy… And yes, I am as well around people I do not know. (Most people will dispute this but it is true) I will admit I had a few drinks, hence the loose tongue. He was standing near a friend of mine. That is the only reason we spoke. The next morning I woke up crying my eyes out. The first man I had met in years…..that was not vulgar, was polite, friendly, kind. And I scared the crap out of him. I told myself that very well could be the best thing that ever happened to you and he will never speak to you again as he was so shy. Hahaha. When I had left the club that night I had said to him. Why don’t you give me a call sometime. I would really like to get to know you better. His response………… Yes ladies you know what men are like…….”Why can’t a woman call a man for once?” A box of Kleenex and 48 hours later I got up the nerve to call.

It was on that night that I began “painting” my masterpiece. Our future. The love of my life, family, a home. I am so thankful that I have someone in my life that helps me with this picture. I guess in life our only wish is that all we do helps the person next to us to create their best “masterpiece”.

I am not yet finished with my masterpiece. I hope to have at least 40 more years to work on it. I just hope that I am able to add those true elements that make any old picture of a work of art.

Leave a Reply

