View from the Big Rock

101_0057

Today I wanted to share with you the “view” from the big rock. You can see the tip of the rock in the picture. As kids, my cousins, my sister and I would sit upon this rock. It was where we would throw pebbles into the lake, spit watermelon seeds, cast our fishing line, watch the stars, feed the ducks, and dry out towels. This is just a few of the many things. I can remember as a child (before we had a gas barbeque), my Grandfather would cook the meat for supper on a Hibachi. There is a small crook in the rock that would hold the BBQ. He would pull up a lawn chair and sit and watch the us grandchildren playing in the lake.

My Grandfather was one of the most special people in my life. He has been gone from this earth for almost twelve years. I was almost 27 when he passed away. Even then, at that age, he always called me Grampie’s Baby. I am his oldest granddaughter. And second grandchild. My Grandfather had that knack of making every grandchild feel like you were his favorite. And for those brief moments on Sunday at the lake with 30 family and friends around there wasn’t anyone there but just the two of you. It was during these times you learned the ways of life. He was never one to give advise per say. But if you asked a question he would tell you a story. It would be later, that you would realize the story was actually telling you what you needed to know or the “advise” as it were. You had to figure it out on your own.

It was during these stories that I learned of unconditional love and acceptance. This rock holds a special place in my heart and when I need to think or get away it is there that I go to hear my Grandfather’s voice. It is there that I hear the last words that he spoke to me from his hospital bed the night before he passed away. Bye Bye sweetie.

Although special people may not be with us in person, their spirit and their love last a lifetime.

2 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing these wonderful memories! It put a smile on my face and reminded me to be thankful for the loved ones I have in my life and for the time I got to spent with the ones I have lost.

    February 15, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    • Jo

      I am glad that it made you smile. That means a lot to hear!

      February 17, 2014 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

