Quilting

My Grandmother quilted.  She would piece Dresden Plates, and patchwork. I would sit and watch as a child until her eyesight got so she no longer could. I always wanted to learn. My mother did not inherit the “crafty” gene. She does not even sew on buttons.

A number of years ago I began taking classes at our local quilt shop. I consider myself still a beginner. Well, perhaps I am more of an intermediate. I have been privileged to take classes from quilters such as Karen Henry, Linda Hubbard, and Lynne Edwards.  In a couple of months I will be taking a class from Pat LaPierre.   In addition to these I have taken classes in beginner quilting, machine quilting, machine applique, hand embroidery and many classes given on what our Guild calls “Super Saturdays”,  working with different patterns and techniques.

Unfortunately, there is that nasty thing called work. As all quilters know it gets in the way of having a bit of fun with our fabric! I have found in my quilting journey that I really enjoy landscape and thread painting and look towards doing much more of that.  The possibilities are endless.

For our last quilt show, I designed a wall hanging in memory of our son. It is inspired by the book we read him each night written by Nancy Tillman titled “On The Night You Were Born”.  There are many references including the ladybug, the stars and the moon, ocean and trees.  (If you look close you can see his name on the breeze) There are far to many to count.  This actually is our home and I took artistic liberty with what my front yard looks like and put in water and hills. Hahaha.  It worked out!

Wall Hanging

As always there are a number of UFO’s in my sewing room. Along with a number of hangers of projects to do. Hahaha. They will have to wait. I organize our charity quilt portion of our Guild. We make and donate quilts to people fighting cancer, who are terminally ill and those who may have lost their homes in a fire. I have blocks ready to go so that will be my focus this week.

4 responses

  1. What a loving and creative way to honour your son. It is beautiful, as is the gift of your craft you share with others in need. Thank you for sharing the beauty you bring to and see in the world.

    February 28, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    • Jo

      It took me 6 months to do. I could only work on it awhile and put away. It really was the first thing I worked on since before I gave birth. The last thing I had been sewing on was a baby quilt. I am just now getting back into my sewing.

      February 28, 2014 at 11:38 pm

      • Jo, your work is beautiful. I hope returning to it is therapeutic for you (as I’m sure it is for the people who benefit from your Guild’s charity work). Art can open us and our hearts and minds in such amazing ways. I am so glad you are able to enjoy it again and share it with Carter. Sending you peace and a nice warm hug.

        March 1, 2014 at 9:28 am

      • Jo

        Hugs back!

        March 1, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

