Please Don’t Tell Me You Understand

I read this post over the weekend. I have carried these thoughts with me throughout the day today. It is so very hard sometimes to express ourselves. It is even more trying to feel comfortable enough to do so without the backlash of friends and family. This post echos our grief. Perhaps by sharing more may understand.

My Perfect Breakdown

No, no, you do not! And that’s okay.  But, please, let me ask the following of you:

Please do not tell me you understand the heartache of loss, because you have a friend who lost a baby or lost their parent, or lost their sibling. Unless you have been there, you do not have the slightest clue. And those that have been through significant loss, know that no two losses are the same and they cannot be compared. What is the similar and what can be shared is the emotions associated with grief.

Do not tell me you understand the loss of my mom and my sister, because your mom died at the ripe old age of 90. Nope, it’s just not the same as having your mom die when she’s only 43 and you are only 14. You enjoyed 62 years of life with your mom. I enjoyed 14…

View original post 454 more words

Leave a Reply

