Update – Living with Unexplained Infertility

Well.  I took another dive….. Well that is how it feels.  Who knows how or what will come of it but after having read a bit it cannot hurt.

Let’s just say I am curvy.  Bahaha.  (My husband especially likes a handful of them)  I have low to moderate high blood pressure.  It runs 120-130 over 70-85.  Last week was 123 over 82.  So really not too bad but with my family history of hypertension etc I have been on low does BP’s for a while as a preventative measure.

I was B12 deficient for some time and on shots for 5 years before pregnancy.  Although, during pregnancy my B12 evened out and my Thyroid went to crap.  (Thyriod runs rampant through my family.  Mother, 3 aunts, 1 uncle, and currently 10 of us grandchildren on meds).

I do not have diabetes.  I had ++ sugar spillage in my urine throughout my pregnancy.  I did not develop Gestational, although I gave birth at 28w so who knows what could have happened.  I was diagnosed with a glucose intolerance while pregnant.  My sugars were between 6 and 7 in the AM on a 12 hour turn around.  Usually throughout the day I would be in the low 5’s and often at 2 hours PC test would be below 5 often in the 4.1 – 4.5 range.  So overall good and frankly I was not worried about the spillage because I felt it was being flushed so YAY!  One of my DR’s did not have the same happy feeling. Hahaha..

Throughout my many blood works my markers have always been good for ovulation.  Having had many tests and surgery, they were good as well.

So goes the life of an Infertile with unexplained infertility…

A few weeks ago my Dietician brought up the M word again. (Metformin)  My OB had discussed with this prior to my first pregnancy but by a miracle we manage on our own.

I had an appointment to renew my other meds and just casually asked if he felt I was a candidate for Metformin.  Mind you it was a fishing expedition in itself as I did not bother to bring up the P word, the F word or the B word. (pregnancy, fertility and baby) I let him think it was the s word.  Sugar.. Hahaha.. I just could not have that conversation with him on this day.  I was not emotionally prepared to hear anything negative.  I just felt that hey it will not harm me and with my family history, current weight and sugars it could be a benefit and all around preventative measure.  I picked them up last week.  I am 7 days in.

Who is to know if this might give me a jump. If it might help all those things that do not work on the inside maybe create that one good chance for a host environment for my last-ditch effort to have another child?

Fingers crossed.  Time is running out.  Here goes nothing!

3 responses

  1. Wishing you the best!!

    June 4, 2015 at 2:10 pm

  2. It is good to hear from you. How are you feeling on the Metformin so far? I am crossing my fingers that maybe… Just maybe…

    June 5, 2015 at 1:05 am

    • Jo

      Oh so far so good. I started at 1/2 dose once a day and now 1/2 dose twice a day.. After the weekend I will probably go up to what he ordered 1 bid. This week my bladder has bothered me and a tinge of pink the other night. I am figuring it is all part of the drugs… I hope. Hahaha.

      June 5, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

