On-line Convenience and 48 hours from now.

Throughout the past few years I have been more and more of a homebody.  Not that I do not wish to see people but I feel more comfortable and safe in my own home and my own skin.   Like running all the errands on Friday night so you can shut out the world until Monday.  This is the results of being parents with empty arms.

Today, I am professing my love for online convenience.  I realize that yes, this is part of our downfall in society.  The fact that we actually do not leave our homes or offices.  Things like paying the power bill, registering the car and ordering a movie can all be done from the privacy of my little oasis!  I for one LOVE it! Hahaha… I also feel on some levels that these conveniences have allowed us more time to spend with our loved ones as we are not running to 20 places each week.

I am even devising a plan to do more shopping on-line for Christmas this year..  I usually shop all year and try to be complete by December 1st.  That way I can enjoy or ignore the holiday season depending on my mood or the day…….  I am approximately 25% complete on that goal.   Thank goodness for Etsy!  Yes, I sew, quilt, knit, crochet and what have you.  I will be making some things this year too.    I believe my niece will be getting one of these.  Chop chop.  I only have 188ish days to get ready.

That being said I am ignoring this weekend…  Yes, we are 48 hours from Father’s Day.  I continue each day to carry with me the guilt that my loving husband never got the chance to have his first Father’s Day with his only child.  You see, I was able to spend my first Mother’s day with he and our son. Three days later he passed away. ( You can read about some of my Mother’s Day here and here.)  Yes, we celebrate it and he is the best Father I know but I will forever hurt to not have the memory of my husband holding his son on that day.

Happy Father’s Day to one and all and warm wishes to you.

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. I too love online shopping and I really love getting Christmas shopping done early.
    I’ll be thinking of your husband and so many men just like him this Father’s day. I hope the two of you are able to have a restful weekend.

    June 19, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    • Jo

      Thank you so much.

      June 20, 2015 at 11:07 am

  2. I am grateful for the reminder that the fathers in our lives suffer deeply when we lose our children. I am sure this weekend – and the others like it that have followed C’s death – are painful and sad around your home. I am very glad you are putting you and you two first and shutting out the rest of the world if and whenever you need to do that. A warm hug to each of you this Sunday.

    June 20, 2015 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

