Weekend = Cherry Pie

Weekends around here are not always rainbows and sunshine.  There is always quiet times and a giggle here and there.  There are those quiet moments in the morning when the house is quiet and you think of the what if’s and what could have been.  Wishing of Saturday morning cartoons and pancakes.  Sunday, afternoon’s spent at the lake.  Sometimes, you just wish reality would leave you so you can be in a 48 hour cocoon.  This weekend was much the same.

Friday night, my summer farming began.  Hay season is here in my little neck of the woods.  So too, has begun,  the summer trips to the grocery store in hay clothes. Hahaha.  Let’s just say not as attractive as your pencil skirt, blouse and Jimmy’s.  Hahaha.. But hey, a Nike hat, cotton pants, t-shirt with holes and a sports bra are awesome.  (So too is the hay chaff stuck in your cleavage but heck that is another story!)

Saturday, I started my summer list of what to do’s.  I stained the wood in the yard.  Check check. Now here is to hoping my ambition holds out for the other items on the list.  This was followed some unmentionables (yes middle-aged and married depressed people do those things…  wait am I middle-aged yet..  Umm maybe not.  Call back in 5ish years..  All you infertiles out there know the perils of a calendar.  I have been checking the old calendar for more years than I can count so I have lost part of my calendar.)   I then asked what is for supper.  To which my DH, who does not cook, responds “There is something around here.”  I declared at 9 pm last night that I was not cooking supper so a trip to the local pizza joint for take-out was necessary.  I had lazy wife syndrome.

PS Saturday was beautiful.  Sun shinning, birds singing, me rolling around in the dirt slapping stain on the rail fence in my flower bed.  Oh, yea and a bit on myself too.   DH in one corner of the yard working on our storage barn.

Sunday, go lake day.  As we say here.  Yes, not grammatically correct, but it is the statement and has been so my whole life.  I called down to see what was on the menu.  DH’s cousin, as usual had started the works.  Bacon wrapped chicken breast, hashbrown casserole, broccoli salad and homemade bread.  I asked “What the H am I going to bring?”  Her husband yells “Nothing” from the couch…Hahahaha..

Ta Da. . CHERRY PIE!  Toot toot.  I have not made pie crust in eons..  Whew..  Just like riding a bicycle.  Best part of the whole thing, neither one of our husbands like it. *Wink* I had forgotten that when I began to bake.  Hahaha.  More for the ladies!

For you husbands out there, never fear, Dear Cousin had chocolate cake with fudge frosting and party pink’s. 

Such is the life.  Now back to reality.  Lunches to make, clothes to fold, oh and a good book on the old Kobo to finish!

Now begins the quest to see what will bring that small smile to my face next weekend.  Can it top the cherry pie?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

