No Words

My friend needs our hep today.  The weight of the world is upon her.

She has the most beautiful daughter.  She has the personality of sunshine and a smile so bright it would light the sky.  She was born with a cognitive heart disorder.  At one week of age her mother began noticing signs that something was not right.  After repeated trips to the ER over a period of 3 days she was sent to the nearest hospital with an NICU.  They informed the family she was experiencing heart failure and was going to be airlifted to the nearest Children’s hospital within the hour.  She spent the next 6 weeks (10 days of which were in the PICU) at the hospital before returning home.  3 1/2  years later they had to move to the city to await a heart transplant.

Her own heart had completely failed.  That morning they have performed the surgery to switch her over to the artificial heart.  That night there was a car accident and the donor matched.  It was a miracle.

Overall the last 8 have been well.  A couple of blips in the road but nothing out of the ordinary for a transplant patient.

Yesterday, I received the most devastating news.  She has cancer.

I have admired my friend.  She is the strongest woman I know.  A mother who has experienced more than we should have to.  Yet, she again, sits vigilant at her daughter’s bed holding her hand.  I have been that mother watching my child.  Praying for my child.  Fearing the unknown.  Fearing the future.  Begging for that life that means more than my own.

I ask today that you please send a prayer for their family.  Husband, wife and daughter.

5 responses

  1. Oh Jo. No words is right. Life can be so cruel. So cruel.

    I have said a prayer and will keep mom dad and daughter in my prayers. Mercy.

    October 16, 2015 at 9:32 am

    • Jo

      Thank you so very much. I have not stopped crying since yesterday.

      October 16, 2015 at 9:44 am

  2. I am so sorry to hear about this families struggles, it just isn’t fair. I’m sending my love to them and you too.

    October 16, 2015 at 10:22 am

    • Jo

      Thank you.

      October 16, 2015 at 10:42 am

  3. Pingback: Life, Love and my version of motherhood

Leave a Reply

