Day 13, 2016

Here I sit, at my desk, watching the snow blow by.

Wednesday.  The middle of the week.  Only two more until the weekend.  Whew..

Things have been pretty somber at our home this week.  Saturday evening our kitty passed away.  The best kitty ever.  Sunday, DH dug his grave.  In the spring, I will landscape and plant some shrubs.  Get his stone in place.

DH and I are having a hard time with this.  My DH has never known me without my cat.  I once told him when we were dating that the cat came first. *wink*  He said he already knew.

When our son passed away, our pets were our comfort.  They were there when you needed to cuddle.   When your arms where so very empty.  He has never left my side in 18 years.  Slept with me every night.  Laid with me with I was sick.  Greeted me at the door every night.

Losing something that means so very much stirs up all of the memories of losing “C”.  The emptiness, the loss.  We feel these things every day, but days like this just make it so much closer to the surface.

It is our journey.  We are grieving parents.

 

5 responses

  1. There just are no words… HUGS

    January 13, 2016 at 9:07 pm

  2. I am so deeply sorry for the loss of your beloved kitty and that the experience makes fresh again losing C. I hope kitty didn’t suffer. Warm hugs dear Jo.

    January 15, 2016 at 12:50 am

    • Jo

      No he was very peaceful. Happened at home with us and his other fur brother.

      January 22, 2016 at 2:07 pm

  3. I’m so sorry to hear this. I cried for two weeks when my cat died, and I never cry! I often think of how scared I am that something will happen to my dog. Sending you hugs xx

    January 15, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    • Jo

      Hugs and thank you so much!

      January 22, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

